Georgia’s 83rd governor, Brian Porter Kemp, was sworn in Thursday, January 12, 2023 in Atlanta. The state’s other Constitutional officers also were sworn in: Lt. Governor Burt Jones, Secretary of State Brad Raffensperger, Attorney General Christopher Carr, Agriculture Commissioner Tyler Harper, Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner John F. King, Labor Commissioner Bruce Thompson, and State School Superintendent Richard Woods.

The crowd included both Georgia House and Senate members because the inauguration ceremony is held during a joint session of the Georgia Assembly. Also present were members of the state judiciary. Other staffers and party supporters were present, as well as representatives of various state agencies. Among those spotted in today’s crowd: Secretary of State’s Office Chief Operating Officer Gabriel Sterling, American Sign Language interpreter David Cowan, the Clayton County delegation’s new chair Rep. Yasmin Neal, Rep. Park Cannon, Atlanta Mayor Andre Dickens, Atlanta District 8 Councilwoman Mary Norwood, Clayton County GOP members Trudy and Tommy Smith, and Georgia Bureau of Investigation Public Affairs Director Nelly Miles.

All photos by Robin Kemp/The Clayton Crescent (Robin Kemp is not related to Brian Kemp).

Robin Kemp is executive editor and CEO of The Clayton Crescent, which she founded in 2020. She has worked for Gambit, CNN, The Weather Channel, Clayton News, Henry Herald, and numerous freelance outlets....

Leave a comment