by Robin Kemp

The Clayton County Board of Education has approved the 2022-2023 school year calendar:

The first day of school will be Wednesday, August 3, 2022. The last day of school will be Wednesday, May 24, 2023.

The new calendar includes a federal holiday on January 2, 2023, in observance of New Year’s. (Note that that’s 2023, not 2022!)

School holidays will include:

  • Monday, Sept. 22, 2022: Labor Day
  • Monday, Oct. 10-Friday Oct. 14, 2022: Fall Break
  • Monday, Nov. 21-Friday, Oct, 25, 2022: Thanksgiving Break
  • Monday, Dec. 19-Friday Dec. 30, 2022: Semester Break
  • Monday, Jan. 2, 2023: New Year’s Day (observed)
  • Monday, Jan. 16, 2023: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Monday, Feb 20, 2023: Presidents Day
  • Monday, April 3-Friday, April 7, 2023: Spring Break

In addition, several Extended Learning Beyond the Classroom (ELBC) days have been set aside:

  • Friday, Aug. 26, 2022
  • Friday, Sept. 16, 2022
  • Friday, Oct. 28, 2022
  • Friday, Jan. 27, 2023
  • Friday, March 10, 2023

Check with your child’s school if you have any questions.


Help The Clayton Crescent meet our December 31 fundraising match goal of $15,000! Your tax-deductible donation between now and December 31 could be TRIPLED–but only if we meet our goal on time!

Give online through this link to be sure your gift will count towards the match: https://findyournews.org/organization/the-clayton-crescent-inc/ or send a check to our back office at The Clayton Crescent, 7742 Spalding Drive, Suite 209, Peachtree Corners, GA 30092.

Your gift will help The Clayton Crescent expand coverage, keep you informed, and hold the powerful accountable! Thank you!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.