by Robin Kemp

The first candidates have qualified for the November 2 municipal election in Forest Park.

Angelyne Butler, Incumbent
Delores A. Gunn
Thomas (Tommy) Smith

Councilmember, Ward 1
Kimberly James, Incumbent
Trudy Smith

Councilmember, Ward 2
Dabouze Antoine, Incumbent

Qualifying continues Wednesday, August 18 and Thursday, August 19 from 8:30 am to 12 noon and 1p.m. to 4:30 p.m. at City Hall.

To download forms required to qualify, visit .

Qualifying fees are $691.20 for the mayor’s race and $432 for each council seat, payable by cash, personal check, money order, or credit card.

The election will take place on Tuesday, November 4, 2021. A runoff, if needed, will take place on Tuesday, November 30. The municipal election will be held at the Elaine Corley Recreation Center, 803 Forest Parkway, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The current mayor is Angelyne Butler. Ward 1’s councilperson is Kimberly James, while Ward 2 is represented by Dabouze Antoine.

If you need to register to vote in the election, you must do so by October 4. Call the Clayton County Elections and Registration office at the Historic Courthouse, 121 S. McDonough Street, Annex II, Second Floor, Jonesboro or call (770) 477-3372 for details.

The Clayton Crescent will send all candidates who qualify a candidate questionnaire. As a nonprofit newsroom, The Clayton Crescent does not endorse any candidate.

Leave a comment