by Robin Kemp

Today is Monday, December 14 , 2020 and the polls open at 8 a.m. for advance/early voting in two U.S. Senate races that could shift Congressional power to the Democratic Party for the first time in years.

The two races are between:

Jon Ossoff (D) and Sen. David Perdue (R)

Raphael Warnock (D) and Sen. Kelly Loeffler (R)

If you are registered to vote in Clayton County, you can vote early in person at any of the following locations:

Early voting days and times are as follows:

  • Monday, Dec. 14 – Friday, Dec. 18 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Saturday, Dec. 19 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
  • Sunday, Dec. 20 from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Monday, Dec. 21 – Wednesday, Dec. 23 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Monday, Dec. 28 – Thursday, Dec. 21 from 8 a.m, to 7 p.m.

If you plan to vote absentee or by paper ballot, get your application in as soon as possible to avoid holiday delays.

Check your registration status online at

You can learn more about the candidates in our candidate profile.

According to a December 10 notice from Clayton County Elections Director Shauna Dozier, early counting of ballots will begin December 21 at 9 a.m. and will repeat daily from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. with any changes posted on the door at 7946 McDonough Street. Observer rules have gotten stricter from count to count. Now, observers will be required to “check-in, receive a badge, take an oath, and relinquish cell phones or other electronic recording devices prior to viewing this process.”

Anyone with questions can call (770) 477-3372.

Leave a comment